Do Tampons Take Your Virginity?

Do Tampons Take Your Virginity?

Author Marie Simas

What happens when you grow up in an insane Catholic family? Surprisingly funny, this candid memoir shows readers the endurance it takes to survive in a stifling, abusive childhood. It’s an emotional roller coaster from start to finish, fiercely honest and sincere. From the very beginning, the author grapples with hilarious, uncomfortable situations, punctuated by episodes of childhood brutality. These stories will make you laugh out loud, and some will make you cry. This book shouldn’t be missed!

Gems: Simas attacks this memoir with unapologetic strength. The humor, pain and personality comes through in the written word. I felt I got to know and connect with Marie. Sure, sympathizing is common with memoirs, but getting a reader to laugh while at the worst, well, that takes a special creative talent. Don’t get me wrong, nothing is funny about the serious issues presented, but humor brings relief. The message is about surviving, overcoming, talking and ultimately, in the end to change. Yes, things happen to people, but what are we going to do with these experiences. It might be cliche to say, ‘Turn the bad into good,’ but taking control is the best revenge. Marie takes control of her past, which also allows her to control her future.

Flaws: I wish it was longer. Some of the entries seemed too short or cut off. I tend to do this when I’m writing a particularly disturbing scene. At times, it is abrupt, like a slap in the face. However, it is consistent and the more I think about, it works with the overall voice of the book. Still, a little more vulnerability by slowing down at certain places would benefit the passages.

* mature content: marital rape, abuse and language.

Bitsy’s Rating: 4 Stars

About bitsybling

Welcome to the wonder world of Bitsy Bling. Thank you for taking the journey into the magical world of her book adventures, thoughts and qu
This entry was posted in Biographies & Memoirs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do Tampons Take Your Virginity?

  1. Kristina says:

    I jumped with excitement when seeing this on my twitter feed! :) I recently reviewed Do Tampons Take Your Virginity? as well!

    I agree with most of your review. I didn’t agree on the flaws, though. The shortness of certain passages reminded me of the vignettes, like in The House on Mango Street. Short, to the point, and blunt (like the rest of the memoir).

    Regardless, I love your review. It makes me happy seeing Marie’s memoir get more attention, as it rightly deserves!

  2. Marie Simas says:

    Thanks for the great review, I really appreciate it. The good reviews have made me rethink my entire career as a writer– maybe I need to concentrate more on the material I really enjoy, rather than the technical nonfiction that I usually write. The book is doing really well as a Kindle edition and it gives me a lot of hope.

Leave a Reply

